

The Hon David Hodgett MP

Minister for Ports Minister for Major Projects Minister for Manufacturing

Friday 20 December 2013

Minister announces Melbourne Market Authority Board appointments

- Melbourne Markets relocation to Epping a step closer to completion
- Mr Stephen McArthur to assume role as Chair of the Melbourne Market Authority (MMA) Board
- Mr Russell Cooper and Mr William Lewis to join MMA Board

The Victorian Coalition Government has announced three appointments to the Board of the Melbourne Market Authority in readiness for the transition of the wholesale market in West Melbourne to its new location in Epping, Minister for Major Projects David Hodgett said today.

"I am very pleased to announce the appointment of Mr Stephen McArthur as the Chair of the Melbourne Market Authority Board and the appointments of Mr Russell Cooper and Mr William Lewis as members to the Board," Mr Hodgett said.

"The relocation of the wholesale market to Epping requires the Melbourne Market Authority to take on increasing responsibility and management for the relocation of around 600 core market businesses.

"Each of these appointees brings significant experience and valuable skills to direct and manage the transition and operation of the new market.

"Mr McArthur has been a member of the Board since June 2011 and has been active in Board decision-making and has been the Acting Chair since October this year. Mr McArthur is also a Director of Yarra Valley Water, Managing Director of Samanco Pty Ltd, as well as the Production Manager for Glencoe Truss and Frame.

"Mr Cooper is a non-Executive Director of Western Water in Victoria. He has previously been Chief Executive Officer of Goulburn Murray Water and Managing Director of South East Water Limited.

"Mr Lewis is a Director of the Australian Institute of Agricultural Science & Technology and a consultant in the agri-food industry. He has previously been involved in the management of a number of food companies.

"The appointments of Mr Stephen McArthur to the Chair, along with Mr Russell Cooper and Mr William Lewis as members, will assist the Melbourne Market Authority at this very challenging time and will mean that the Board will be fully staffed.

"I would like to acknowledge the fine contribution made by the previous Chair, Neil Lowe who occupied this role for around ten years, and former Board member Nada Kirkwood. I thank them for their service and wish them well in future pursuits."

Media contact: Steve Mann 0428 398 039 steve.mann@minstaff.vic.gov.au

